About JCAC

The Jackson County Arts Council is the Designated County Partner (DCP) for the North Carolina Arts Council. The Grassroots Arts Program (GAP) provides per capita-based funding for arts programming to all 100 counties across North Carolina ensuring opportunities for citizens to experience the arts in their own communities.

Our Vision

The vision of the Jackson County Arts Council is to promote individual artists, foster appreciation of the arts, provide art education and inspire creativity in Jackson County.

Our Mission

The Jackson County Arts Council believes that exposure to the arts, and participation in the arts, are uniquely important to every community and should be encouraged and
supported on several levels:

  • Promoting excellence in artistic expression, citizen engagement and community enhancement.
  • Encouraging a culture of creativity expressed through ground-breaking approaches to educational and economic development.
  • Supporting the arts at all levels to accomplish viable economic growth and enrichment of community life for all citizens.

Together, we can create a bright future for the citizens of Jackson County.


Our Board of Directors

The Jackson County Arts Council Board of Directors includes members of the Jackson County community and Western Carolina faculty and staff who appreciate art and its impact on the community.  The 2017-2018 Board of Directors are:

Executive Committee: Gail Woody (President),  Eon Alden (Vice President), Terri Armfield (Secretary), Erin Adams(Treasurer)

Board: Claire Collins, Fitzallen Eldridge, Sean and Rachel Bridgers, Hope Huskey, Yona Wade, Jan Boyer, and Erin Tapley

Office Administrator: Lena Woods